Area 4: Spiritual

The gauge you use to measure the quality and meaning of your life

The term “spirituality” is sometimes equated with religion. Although spirituality does indeed include religion, it is a much wider concept. In this system, the term “spiritual” is used to describe the area of your life in which you measure your connection to a deeply held set of values, as well as your purpose in life. This area will help you to define the meaning of your life, and therefore help you determine the direction of your life. The spiritual area is where you connect to a purpose beyond your own self-interest, and it is here that you will discover passion and motivation that can help you cope with difficult circumstances in the other areas of your life. 

Spirituality provides this “why”, the reason for your life and could be a very powerful force that will lead to a greater sense of fulfilment. This area lies at the core of who we are and therefore it is important to consider the various aspects of how this section impacts on our lives.

This area is subdivided into three sections: 

  1. Values 
  2. Contribution 
  3. Spirituality 

Examples of Various Values

Achievement , Acknowledgement, Adventure, Adaptability, Appearance, Authenticity, Beauty, Belonging, Clarity, Comfort, Commitment, Communication, Community, Competition, Creativity, Dignity, Excitement, Faith, Family, Flexibility, Interaction, Freedom, Friendliness, Friendship, Fulfilment, Fun, Growth, Happiness, Health, Helpfulness, Hope, Honesty, Honour

Humility, Humour, Independence, Influence, Integrity, Romance, Intimacy, Joy, Justice, Kindness, Knowledge, Leadership, Loyalty, Love, Nature, Order, Participation, Peace, Power, Pride, Recognition, Respect, Risk, Security, Self-discipline, Self-esteem, Service, Solitude, Spirituality, Stability, Status, Strength, Success, Supportiveness, Truth, Variation, Vitality, Wealth, Wisdom